Should I Admit Fault in a Car Accident?

When a car accident happens, whether on the roads of Dallas, interstate highways or back road of Texas, you are naturally rattled and upset. You may even admit fault before you fully understand the circumstances that caused the accident in the first place. However, the scene of an accident is never the place to make determinations of who is at fault.

Wintess cooperating in car accident near Dallas, Tx

The best thing to is to simply offer assistance to those who may be injured in the accident, and simply exchange personal contact and insurance information. As callous as it sounds, be careful about what you say. Even an “I’m sorry” can be construed as an admission that you were at fault. Whether you are at fault or not, you can make matters worse by offering up too much instead of letting the insurance companies and lawyers hammer things out.

Call the police first!

Instead, in the event of an accident, your first call should be to police or emergency services if required. Your second call should be to a Dallas car accident lawyer.  And, third, call your insurance company. Of these three calls, your attorney is the only one there to protect your rights.

Just the basics

These relate primarily to automobile accidents but can stretch to cover other circumstances as well. First and foremost, stick only to the basics – do not give any details aside from the basics of the incident. Only discuss who was in the accident, what damage was incurred in the accident, when the accident occurred, and where the accident occurred.

Texas auto insurance policyKnow your car insurance policy

The next best thing that you can do – even before an accident – is to learn your insurance policy inside and out. All too often the minimum amount of liability insurance does not cover the actual costs of property damage and personal injury. For automobiles, the state of Texas requires minimum liability of $30,000 for each injured party to a maximum per accident of $60,000, and $25,000 minimum liability for property damage per accident.

Check to see if you have personal injury protection coverage (PIP).  This come in handy if you sustain and injury in a car accident.  Do not mistake PIP vs. Med-Pay.  They are different and I recommend you carry PIP rather than Med-Pay.

You probably also want to have uninsured motorist coverage.  Not everyone follows the law and carries the required auto insurance. So, you certainly want to be prepared in that event.

Call a Lawyer Quickly.

The minute an accident happens, the wheels are set in motion.  The parties are preparing their own versions of the accident.  Within a day or so, the insurance companies get involved and start conducting their own investigation.  It’s easy to get overwhelmed.  It is imperative that you keep your wits, and call an attorney as soon as possible.

Do not give recorded statement1. DO NOT give any recorded statement about the accident;

2. DO NOT give any information beyond your insurance information

3. DO NOT sign anything no matter how much your pressured.

If you have been involved in an accident, call our office and let us handle the heavy lifting. We will make sure that your rights are protected.

Scroll to Top